iOS5 comes with some neat features to simplify your life such the ability to snap photos on your iPhone and they can appear automatically to other iOS5 devices as well as your Mac’s, Windows 7, Vista when they are registered with iCloud using the same iTunes account.
If you register your iPhone, iPad to iCloud, you will see in our photo app, along with your photo roll, another photo album appears called Photo Stream. newly taken photos will show-up in the Photo Roll as well as Photo Stream. Photo Stream is basically representing an image of account Cloud space residing on Apple server farm. Same Photo Stream can be seen on all the participant devices.
The idea is great, if you are in possession at all time all of your iDevices, but like many households, people might share all the iPad, Mac, PC at home having under the same account.
Now is the headache part,. taking whatever snapshots with your phone and your photos will be seen on all other devices as soon as you are within the WiFi coverage. In normal situation, you do not have choice of which photo to be or not to be sent once you are in a WiFi coverage, your new photos will be pushed automatically to other devices. Once they are broadcasted, there is no way to remove them selectively on the iCloud space nor on other devices…
Below are few tips for your consideration.
- If you have the service turned on, be very careful about what you are taking; in case, accidently you already took your “unwanted” photos; delete them from your photo roll before you get in to a WiFi coverage.
- If you find photos already in your Photo Stream and you want to delete them, again you have to delete them all. Go to iCloud.com on your browser, Sign in > Click on your name located on top right corner > click on Advanced > Reset Photo Stream.
- After you reset Photo Stream in iCloud, all the individual Photo Streams located on all devices are still there; you have to go to each of them manually to turn off iCloud Photo Stream service as below described. Upon completion, all of them will be then removed for good.
- On your iOS device, you can remove photos from the Photo Stream view by turning off Photo Stream and then optionally turning it back on. You can do this at Settings > iCloud > Photo Stream. If you added any Photo Stream photos to other albums or the Camera Roll on your iOS device, you can locate and delete these photos manually, if desired.
- On your Mac, you can clear cached photos from the Photo Stream view in iPhoto or Aperture by turning off Photo Stream and then optionally turning it back on. You can do this in each application by visiting Preferences > Photo Stream. If you had Automatic Import enabled in your Photo Stream settings, your Photo Stream photos were also imported to your iPhoto or Aperture Library, and will remain after you disable Photo Stream. If you would like to delete any of these photos from your library, you can to do so manually any time you like.
- On your PC, you can remove Photo Stream photos by deleting them from your designated Photo Stream Download Folder. By default, this folder is located at C:\Users\Apple\Pictures\Photo Stream\My Photo Stream.
- Remember turn on/off or reset will have effect on all your shared photos located in Photo Stream
- Photo Stream only works with new photos. If you have old photos you want to share, use one of the third party photo app read them and rewrite them back. They are considered new and will be shared.
I hope this helps!